Trying to bulk up on a vegan diet? If so, you should put down the whey protein and go for another option, like hemp or soy.
As the famous nursery rhyme goes, “little miss Muffet, sat on a tuffet, Eating her curds and whey…” curds and whey is just a fancy way of saying cheese – cottage cheese, to be specific.
Whey is a liquid that comes from milk. It is a byproduct of cheesemaking. Whey is essentially what you’re left with when you separate the curds from milk. Since vegans do not eat foods containing ingredients derived from animals, whey protein is not vegan.
If you’re looking for a good vegan alternative to whey protein, check out our roundup of 12 awesome plant-based protein powders.
Leave a Reply