Aioli is a garlicky mayo sauce that has become very popular over the past few years. I’ve been seeing it on almost every restaurant’s menu, and it goes great with everything from sushi to sandwiches.
Unfortunately, since aioli is mayonnaise-based and contains eggs, it is not vegan. I would guess that the only way to have vegan mayonnaise is if you go to a specific vegan restaurant or make it yourself.
A very basic aioli contains eggs, olive oil, sea salt, garlic, and lemon juice. In order to recreate the creamy, garlicky sauce you need to replace the eggs, and luckily that is pretty easy. Some pretty common eggs substituents are seeds, such as chia seeds and flax seeds. But there are many more options (eight and counting), which we have enumerated in our article on eight eggs substituents.