Lays potato chips are one of the most popular brands of chips in the world today but are they vegan? Potato chips are essentially nothing more than thinly sliced potatoes that are fried in vegetable oil and sprinkled with a little bit of salt. However, things aren’t always as simple as they seem. In fact, many of Lay’s potato chips contain a lot more ingredients than that, which complicates things. I even love to eat it with my homemade vegetable salad.
Lay’s potato chips come in dozens of flavors and varieties – a whopping 46 of them at the time of writing this, to be exact. But unfortunately, fewer than 30 percent of them are friendly to vegans. Even if most of them have maltodextrin, which is common for potato chips.
Like most things, when deciding if Lays chips are safe for a vegan diet, a one size fits all approach just doesn’t work. You have to look at each flavor individually and analyze the ingredient list on the back of the bag. This can sometimes be confusing to those who are new to living a vegan lifestyle.
But have no fear. That’s where we come in. Wading through the ingredient list on each variation can be overwhelming, so we decided to do all the work for you. Now, all you have to do is choose a vegan-friendly flavor of Lay’s potato chips from our handy dandy list below and start snacking.
Scroll down for a full list of Lay’s vegan flavors.
Vegan Lays Potato Chips
The following flavors and varieties are the only kinds of Lays potato chips that are vegan at the time of writing this. All of the other flavors on the market right now each contain some sort of dairy and/or other animal ingredients that make them not friendly to a vegan lifestyle.
Are Lay’s Barbecue Chips Vegan?
Are Lays Dill Pickle Chips Vegan?
No products found.
No products found.
Salt & Vinegar
Kettle Cooked – Original
Kettle Cooked – Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt
Kettle Cooked – 40% Less Fat – Original
Wavy – Original
Are Lays Stax Vegan – Original
Suggested Read: Are Tortilla Chips Vegan?
Find The Best Vegan Chips
If you are interested in other varieties of chips and their possible “vegan” status:
Check out our articles, such as Are Sun Chips Vegan and Are Pringles Vegan.
Find out which other chips brands are vegan-friendly and which are the best vegan chips on the market!
If you find this article helpful, please let us know in the comments below. And if you have any more questions about what other foods are vegan or not, leave a message in the comments section and we’ll be very happy to address it for you.
Learn more vegan-related topics like cooking vegan dishes tutorials, vegan options on restaurant menus, and information about a certain food if it’s vegan or not, all of them on our website. Or just view our list of Vegan Junk Food.
Last update on 2023-03-30 at 17:26 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API
Leave a Reply