Calcium lactate sounds like something that could come from dairy, but where does it really come from? Calcium lactate is both a health supplement and
a common ingredient used in many foods, but most consumers pay little attention to it or its origins. Although calcium is a mineral typically associated with milk, and lactate sounds a lot like lactose, calcium lactate is not a dairy product. Calcium lactate is a calcium salt that comes from lactic acid. The Vegetarian Resource Group has researched the origin of lactic acid in the U.S. and has determined it to be vegan; however, lactic acid outside of the U.S. may not be vegan.
So if you’re going to ask, is calcium lactate vegan? Well, it depends on where the lactic acid is made.
If you find this article helpful, please let us know in the comments below. And if you have any more questions about what other foods are vegan or not, leave a message in the comments section and we’ll be very happy to address it for you.
You may have more concerned questions like Is Wine Vegan, Is Albumen Vegan, and more.
Learn more vegan-related topics like cooking vegan dishes tutorials, vegan options on restaurant menus, and information about a certain food if it’s vegan or not, all of them on our website.
Suggested Read: Is Soda Vegan?
Leave a Reply