Most of the nerds I know are not vegan, but is Nerds candy vegan? Nerds come in two flavors: strawberry and grape. These flavors are typically sold as a side-by-side combo, and they both contain the same ingredients – they are essentially just little pellets of artificially colored and flavored sugar. Unfortunately, Nerds use the insect-derived pigment, carmine, which means Nerds are not vegan.
Willy Wonka Nerds, Strawberry and Grape Ingredients:
Dextrose, Sugar, Malic Acid, and Less than 2% of Corn Syrup, Artificial Flavors, Carnauba Wax, Color Added, Carmine Color, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake.