Baklava is a sweet pastry consisting of phyllo dough and chopped nuts stacked in layers. It is predominantly a middle eastern dish, but recipes vary slightly from one region to another. Baklava is usually not vegan friendly. Most recipes use honey to sweeten it, as well as butter to separate the layers of dough. Phyllo dough is often vegan, but some recipes include egg yolks.
How to Make Vegan Baklava
It’s easy to veganize any baklava recipe. All you have to do is buy phyllo dough that doesn’t contain any eggs, which is easy to find. You can also make your own phyllo dough – it’s just flour, water, and a small amount of oil and vinegar. Then replace the butter with vegan margarine and substitute the honey with maple syrup. Voila!
Leave a Reply