Many vegans claim refined sugar, aka white sugar, is not vegan, and depending on how you look at it, they are partially correct. Refined sugar made from cane sugar is sometimes filtered through bone char, but it does not actually contain any animal-based ingredients.
Again, only some of the white sugar made from cane sugar is filtered through bone char. Refined sugar is also made from beet sugar, and that is never filtered through bone char.
Brown sugar is not raw sugar, as some people may think. Brown sugar is just ordinary white sugar that has been coated in molasses. Brown sugar is vegan in every practical sense, though some may argue that it’s not.
Tak a look, also, at the is powdered sugar vegan article to be on the safe side!