Everybody knows what Corn Flakes are, but did you know Kellogg’s Corn Flakes are actually the original breakfast cereal, as in the first cereal ever invented? With so many breakfast cereals on the market these days, it’s hard to imagine that the very first one is not only still around, but still one of the most popular. It’s probably safe to say no one was thinking about “the vegan demographic” when Corn Flakes were invented, but luckily enough Corn Flakes are vegan… well, sort of…
Whether or not Corn Flakes are really vegan gets tricky because Corn Flakes are fortified with vitamin D, and Kellogg’s has been known to use vitamin D3 in their cereals, which is not vegan; so there’s a good chance Kellogg’s Corn Flakes might not actually be vegan. Kellogg’s is not the only brand that makes Corn Flakes. As you probably know, generic versions of the cereal can be found in most grocery stores. Any generic brand that is not fortified with vitamin D is definitely vegan as long as the rest of the ingredients are the same.
Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Ingredients
Milled corn, sugar, malt flavor, contains 2% or less of salt. BHT added to packaging for freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Iron, vitamin C (sodium ascorbate, ascorbic acid), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin A palmitate, folic acid, vitamin D, vitamin B12.
Want to know what other popular breakfast cereals are vegan? Check out our Is It Vegan? category.