LUNA bars are nutrition bars made specifically for women by Clif Bar. While it’s not clear why men aren’t supposed to eat LUNA bars – maybe their insides will turn to jelly? – what we really want to know is: are LUNA bars vegan?
Most LUNA bars are vegan, but it’s important that you also understand Clif’s position on the matter. In response to the question: Are your foods vegan-friendly? Clif Bar states:
It depends on your definition. Many of our products do not include ingredients from animal sources.
Any Clif food with an ingredient list that includes an animal sourced ingredient such as milk, whey, casein or honey would not be considered vegan-friendly or plant-based.
We want you to know that those products with a label that includes a statement such as ‘contains’ or ‘may contain’ milk or dairy may have possible cross-contact with an animal source in the making of our food. Knowing that information, you can decide how comfortable you are in light of your own dietary preferences or dietary restrictions with the risk of possible cross-contact.
Based on this statement, It would appear that most Clif Bar products, including LUNA bars, are intrinsically vegan but likely to come in contact with equipment that shares non-vegan foods unless they actually have milk, whey, casein, or honey listed as an ingredient.
If the label says the product may have come in contact with milk or dairy, I would guess the actual chances of you consuming any dairy would be far less than 1%.
You should also remember that purchasing a product that may have been cross-contaminated because it shares factory equipment, is in no way the same as supporting the animal industry. That being said, if you are someone who is bothered by cross-contamination, you might just want to steer clear of LUNA bars.
Leave a Reply