You may already know that many types of bread aren’t vegan, but does that mean flour isn’t vegan? No. Flour is vegan and we use it all the time!
Flour is made from raw grains, like wheat, that are ground into a powder. It does not contain any animal ingredients. The only reason bread is sometimes not vegan-friendly is because animal ingredients, like milk or eggs, are added to the dough. For example, bakery breads will often have what’s called an “egg wash” on the crust. If not for this egg wash, the bread would be vegan friendly. If you want to make your own vegan bread, check out our huge list of vegan bread recipes.