Boca is a food company that manufactures meatless products, such as burgers, chicken strips, and sausage links. Boca Burgers have become synonymous with vegetarians. Their original meatless burger is 100 percent vegan, but don’t let that fool you. “Meatless” does not mean vegan – not containing any animal products –, it just means vegetarian.
Here’s a breakdown of the entire line of Boca products and what is and isn’t vegan:
Many of the burgers Boca makes contain cheese. Thankfully, the ones that do not contain any dairy or eggs say “vegan” right on the front of the box. This includes the Original Vegan and the Non GMO Original Vegan.
My Latest Videos
Boca’s chicken patties and strips are all vegan at the moment. I say “at the moment” because at one point they used to contain egg whites.
Boca Veggie Patties
Ironically, both of the veggie patties Boca makes – Bruschetta Tomato Basil Parmesan and Savory Mushroom Mozzarella – as their names imply, are not vegan because they both contain cheese.
Boca Ground Crumbles
Boca Ground Crumbles are essentially their Original Vegan ground up like ground beef. They are vegan.
Boca’s sausage links, which are their only breakfast product at the moment, contain milk and are not vegan.
Ingredients Subject to Change
Boca clearly states on their packaging that their products ingredients and formulas are subject to change at any time. Basically, this means what is vegan today might not be vegan tomorrow. Like I said, at one point in time, I distinctly remember their chicken patties containing egg whites, but now it seems that all of their chicken products are vegan. To play it safe, I would suggest reviewing the ingredients from time to time to ensure they are still vegan unless the box clearly say “vegan” on it.