Usually Subway is a last resort for my boyfriend and I because we are lucky enough to live in a city with plenty of vegan options. Luckily, Subway does offer some options for vegans, so last week when we found ourselves in a place without any other restaurants, we were able to get a delicious foot long veggie sub. I recently discovered that neither of their veggie patties (gardenburger and vegimax) are vegan. That is pretty disappointing because we ate the vegimax patty last week without knowing it contained egg whites. Oopsie. It tasted pretty good but I do prefer the plain veggie delite sandwich with all of the veggies.
Here is a list of vegan options at Subway, including Sauces.
Update: Subway now offers vegan sandwiches in Washington, D.C., Florida, Connecticut, and L.A.
Is Subway Bread Vegan?
if you asked yourself “is Subway bread vegan” the answer is yes and they have several choices for you on their bread menu.
- Hearty Italian
- Italian (white)
- Roasted Garlic
- 9 Grain Wheat (contains honey)
- Buffalo Sauce
- Yellow Mustard
- Brown Mustard
- Subway Vinaigrette
- Sweet Onion Sauce
- Veggie Delite
Obviously all of the vegetables are vegan so you can order a pretty decent veggie sub.
My Latest Videos
My favorite way to order a sub is with Hearty Italian bread, all of the vegetables, yellow mustard and buffalo sauce. It’s actually pretty good and a fair deal for the price.
A good way to find out if a restaurant has any vegan options is to check their nutrition and allergen information. If an item contains eggs or dairy, usually restaurants will let consumers know on the allergen list. Also, when checking the nutrition information, an item that contains cholesterol is automatically not vegan because cholesterol only comes from animal products. Here is a link for the allergen chart from Subway: