The other day I was talking to my friend who is a manager in training at Starbucks and he told me the soy Caramel Macchiato is not vegan. This is horrible news because the Caramel Macchiato is one of my favorite Starbucks’ drinks and I’ve drank tons of them unwittingly. There is a bit of a silver lining, though… it’s only the caramel sauce they put on top of the drink that isn’t vegan. It has some kind of dairy in it.
So technically, you can still have a soy Caramel Macchiato. You just have to remember to tell them not to put any caramel sauce on it. It’s still pretty damn good without the caramel sauce, it’s just not as good. And, just to be clear, the caramel sauce is not vegan but the caramel syrup is. The caramel syrup is what gives the drink its flavor and makes it a caramel macchiato. You’ll confuse many a barrista if you start ordering Caramel Macchiatos sans the caramel syrup.
Leave a Reply