Lemonhead, as you probably know already, is a popular lemon-flavored hard candy, more often referred to as, “Lemonheads.” But are Lemonheads vegan? Some people think Lemonheads, and other candies like them, are not vegan because of the dyes used in them. They believe the dyes are made from crushed insects. In the case of Lemonheads, the only dye used is Yellow 5, which is actually made from petroleum – yum! However, Lemonades are not vegan because they contain “confectioner’s glaze,” which is in fact made from an insect – the female lac bug, to be exact.
Ingredients: Sucrose,corn syrup, citric acid, confectioner’s glaze, natural and artificial flavor, gum acacia, lemon juice concentrate, modified food starch, carnauba wax, and yellow 5.