Cinnamon Toast Crunch was one of my all-time favorite cereals when I was a kid – as well as a good portion of my adult life. What’s not to love? It’s basically a box of solidified cinnamon and sugar. But is Cinnamon Toast Crunch vegan? According to Berkeley.edu, Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not vegan because it contains milk. FoodFacts.com also lists milk as an ingredient. However, the General Mills site says CTC does not contain any milk ingredients, but it does contain vitamin D3, which is not vegan. So either way, CTC is not vegan. The good news is, Cascadian Farm makes a “Cinnamon Crunch” cereal that is vegan and it tastes just like regular CTC.
Cinnamon Toast Crunch Ingredients
Our research uncovered conflicting ingredients information from various sources. Some sources say CTC contains dairy ingredients, but General Mills says it doesn’t. What’s most likely going on here is CTC used to contain milk, but now it doesn’t. It’s not uncommon for food manufacturers to change their formulas from time to time for various reasons. Even though CTC now appears to be dairy-free, it is fortified with vitamin D3, which is an animal derivative.
Whole Wheat, Sugar, Rice Flour, Canola And/Or Rice Bran Oil, Fructose, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Cinnamon, Soy Lecithin,Trisodium Phosphate, Caramel And Annatto Extract Color, Zinc And Iron(Mineral Nutrients), Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), A “B” Vitamin(Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1(Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), Natural Flavor, A B Vitamin (Folic Acid), Nonfat Milk, Vitamin B 12, Vitamin D. Freshness Preserved by BHT.
Want to know what other popular breakfast cereals are vegan? Check out our Is It Vegan? category.