Everyone knows that Twinkies will last virtually forever, but hardly anyone knows what they’re actually made of. Twinkies contain more than 30 ingredients, so what do you think the chances of none of those ingredients coming from an animal are? If you guess, “pretty slim,” you’d be correct. Twinkies are not vegan. The main culprit is beef fat, aka “tallow.” Yes, that’s right, Twinkies contain beef fat. They also contain eggs and milk. Twinkies are basically about as far from being vegan as fresh sirloin steak.
Ingredients: ENRICHED BLEACHED WHEAT FLOUR [FLOUR, REDUCED IRON, “B” VITAMINS (NIACIN, THIAMIN MONONITRATE (B1), RIBOFLAVIN (B2), FOLIC ACID) WATER, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE AND/OR ANIMAL SHORTENING (SOY BEAN, COTTONSEED, AND/OR CANOLA OIL, BEEF FAT), WHOLE EGGS, DEXTROSE, CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF: SOY LECITHIN, LEAVENINGS (SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, BAKING SODA, CORNSTARCH AND MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE), MODIFIED CORN STARCH, GLUCOSE, WHEY, GLYCERIN, SOYBEAN OIL, SALT, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, POLUSORBATE 60, CORN STARCH, SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, SORBIC ACID, POTASSIUM SORBATE, XANTHAN GUM, CELLULOSE GUM, ENZYME, WHEAT FLOUR, YELLOW 5, RED 40.