If ever there was a chip that could come close to rivaling potato chips, it would be the tortilla chip. But are tortilla chips vegan? Most styles and brands of tortilla chips are typically vegan. The ones you have to watch out for are the flavored ones.
Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
The kind of fresh made chips you would get at a Mexican restaurant are likely to be vegan. They are made from uncooked corn tortillas that have been deep fried in vegetable oil. That being said, you may want to ask the server if the chips are fried in the same oil as meats – very common at many restaurants that use basket fryers.
The only kind of store bought tortilla chips that aren’t vegan are the flavored kind. If a certain brand of chips has any kind of flavoring – lime, nacho, ranch, etc. – just be sure to check the ingredients before you buy them because there’s a good chance they might contain dairy.
My Latest Videos
Make Your Own Vegan Tortilla Chips
We’ve been making tortilla chips at home for years. They’re super easy to make, and you can use either corn or flour tortillas. Click here to view our recipe.