Can vegans “taste the rainbow?” The answer is: Yes. Skittles are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animal products; however, some vegans may not want to consume Skittles because of the other controversial ingredients they contain.
Contrary to what many people think, Skittles do not contain gelatin or any other animal based ingredients. However, Skittles sold in the U.S. did contain gelatin up until 2009, which is why many people still think they do today. However, that has changed, which is good news for candy-loving vegan volks because skittles are now safe to eat even if your lifestyle doesn’t include eating products that are made from animals.
The ingredients in Skittles as of 2009 are:
- Corn Syrup
- Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil
- Apple Juice from Concentrate
- Less than 2% Citric Acid
- Modified Corn Starch
- Natural and Artificial Flavors
- Coloring (Includes Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 1)
- Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
Controversial Food Colorings
The chemicals used in Skittles to add coloring, including Red 40, Yellow 6, and Yellow 5 have been the subject of much controversy surrounding their alleged adverse health effects. While no conclusive evidence has been produced, many professional and independent researchers suspect their may be a link between these chemicals and certain illnesses, such as cancer.
- Share the rainbow when you stock up on bulk packs of Skittles Original Fruity Candy. Every bag of Skittles Candy is...
- Contains one (1) 54 ounce jar of Skittles Original Fruity Candy.
- Features strawberry, orange, grape, lemon and green apple flavors
The third ingredient in Skittles is Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, which is a derivative of palm oil. The production of palm oil causes much destruction to the global environment, as well as the lives of the animals and humans who inhabit the areas where palm oil is cultivated. Today, palm oil production is one of the main causes of deforestation. Although the production of palm oil does not directly incorporate animals or animal byproducts, it indirectly leads to the deaths of countless animals that inhabit rain forests.
Last update on 2021-08-03 at 17:42 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API