It may come as no surprise that the beloved childhood cereal called Lucky Charms is not vegan. It’s not really the cereal itself that isn’t vegan but actually the marshmallows. As you may already know, a key component to any marshmallow, of nearly every brand (excluding specifically vegan brands), is gelatin. Gelatin is made from collagen which is found in animal bones, joints, skin and ligaments. It is derived by boiling these body parts in water over a period of time and then processed to be colorless, flavorless and odorless. It is used in all types of products because it lends a gelatinous, or gel-like texture to products. So naturally, things like marshmallows and jello are produced using gelatin.
Lucky Charms Ingredients:
Whole Grain Oats, Marshmallows (sugar, modified corn starch, corn syrup, dextrose, gelatin, calcium carbonate, yellow 5&6, blue 1, red 40, artificial flavor) Sugar, Oat Flour, Corn Syrup, Corn Starch, Salt, Trisodium Phosphate, Color Added, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Vitamin E.
As you can see, not only do Lucky Charms contain gelatin, but they also contain some other questionable ingredients that I would not want in my body. The ingredients for the Chocolate Lucky Charms also contain gelatin so they are also not vegan.
If you really love Lucky Charms, then you are in luck because here is a recipe for a homemade vegan version. Good Luck!
Leave a Reply