The answer to the question, “are bagels vegan?” is: most of the time. Many bagels, whether you get them from a bakery, bagel shop, or grocery store, are vegan – however, many are not, so you should still check the ingredients label before you purchase them. Plain bagels are typically vegan, unless they’re “egg bagels,” but when you start delving into the flavored variety, the chances of them being vegan start to drop. You have to pay attention to that.
Ingredients in Bagels to Watch Out For
The common animal ingredients in bagels that you should watch out for are eggs and milk. Since these ingredients are also common allergens, they will be labeled clearly as such in bold letters on packaging, making them easy to spot. One of our readers once asked if people should always be on the lookout for L-cystine, an ingredient that sometimes comes from bird feathers. If the bagels in question contain L-cystine but are kosher, then the L-cystine is synthetically derived, and therefore vegan friendly.
Leave a Reply