Worcestershire sauce is a popular British condiment that is made from a complex blend of ingredients, including vinegar, barley malt, and molasses, but is it vegan? Worcestershire sauce was likely inspired by an ancient fermented fish sauce called garum, as well as other fermented fish sauces that can be traced back to 17th century Europe. These sauces used fermented anchovies as a main ingredient, and so does traditional Worcestershire, which means it’s not vegan.
However, several brands now sell anchovy-free, vegan-friendly versions of Worcestershire sauce. We were actually able to find some vegan Worcestershire on Amazon. It’s sold by the gallon, which is probably enough to last a lifetime.