Burger King’s vegan options don’t look that much different from McDonald’s; however, I personally think BK is the more vegan-friendly of the two, and not just by accident. They actually make a point of specifying their veggie burger is not vegan on their full menu, which at least shows a modicum of consideration — and a healthy fear of lawsuits. I would take BK over McDonald’s any day if I had to choose between the two. BK just has better alternatives.
If you’re vegan, Burger King isn’t as hopeless as you might imagine; if you’re a vegetarian, BK is actually a safe bet, and pretty good if you like fast food. You can get a veggie burger made pretty much any way you want it — just tell them the sandwich you want, and ask them to use the veggie patty instead of the meat. It’s pretty awesome, really. Unfortunately for vegans, the veggie patty contains milk and eggs — a double strike.
BK’s veggie burger has been a staple on their menu for several years now, so I’m slightly optimistic that they might add a vegan one to their menu sometime in the very distant future, perhaps 20 or 50 years from now.
Until then, here are the Vegan Options You Might Find at Burger King on the Burger King Vegan Menu:
Please note: Restaurant chains frequently change their menu items and ingredients. We do our best to keep these lists up to date, but it takes us a very long time to gather all the data for hundreds of chains, so we cannot guarantee the information in this list of vegan options is always current. If you notice a mistake or something that has been removed/added to a menu, or you have any additional information to share, please leave a comment below to help us and help others. Thanks!
My Latest Videos
BK Vegan Sandwich Options
You already know the bad news, but there’s also some good news: all of the BK buns and tortillas are vegan, so you can ask them to make you a veggie wrap or sandwich on any style bun. Don’t forget to tell them to hold the cheese and the mayo — they love to slather that stuff on — but the rest of the condiments should be fair game. As for the veggies on the Burger King vegan menu, you’ll at least have the choices of lettuce, tomato, pickle, and onion — maybe more if they have a specialty item running. It won’t be great, but you won’t starve.
BK Vegan Side Items: Are Burger King Fries Vegan?
Are Burger King fries vegan? Burger King’s french fries are vegan, and pretty delicious — at least when they’re fresh. Honestly, if you get a large fries and have them make you some sort of veggie concoction on a bun, you’ve almost got a half-way decent meal — it’s at least filling. Throw a side salad with no cheese in the mix — the only other side option — and it’s almost like you’re at a real restaurant, or your relative’s cookout.
Caution: Steer clear of the salad dressings. They are not vegan.
BK Vegan Drinks and Desserts
BK used to have a decent selection of vegan drinks and desserts, but these days it’s looking slim. The smoothies used to be vegan, but now they contain low fat yogurt. At one point the soft serve ice cream was also vegan, but now it contains dairy. The Dutch Apple Pie is actually vegan – last we checked, it still doesn’t contain any animal ingredients. It does contain margarine but it must be dairy-free margarine because there is no allergen warning for milk. There’s also a wide variety of soft drinks, and juices to choose from, as well as coffee.
BK Vegan Breakfast Options
Once again, you’ve actually got a reasonable selection here.
- French Toast Sticks (nuts, right?)
- Hash Browns
As you can see, Burger King has a lot better choices than McDonald’s — mainly because their fries and hash browns are vegan, as well as some desserts.