Smarties Candy Rolls, “America’s favorite candy rolls,” are now advertised as “gluten free,” but are Smarties vegan? Smarties are artificially colored and flavored disks of sugar, but they do not contain any animal ingredients, which means Smarties are vegan.
Calcium stearate is one of the ingredients in Smarties that could potentially be animal-derived. It comes from steric acid, which can be made from animal fat, but is mainly produced from vegetable fats these days. Smarties is on a list of brands that claim their calcium stearate is plant-based.