Kellogg’s Fruit Loops is one of the most popular children’s breakfast cereals on the market. It’s been around for decades, and it is still loved by many children and adults today. You might assume a cereal with the word fruit in the title has a pretty good chance of being vegan, but you may want to double check the ingredients label before you toss Toucan Sam’s colorful rings of starch in your shopping cart… Fruit Loops definitely don’t contain any real fruit, but like many other Kellogg’s cereals, they do contain vitamin D3, which means Fruit Loops aren’t vegan. Vitamin D3 is a vitamin D supplement that is sourced from lanolin, a waxy substance that comes from sheep.
If you’re a vegan who can’t live without Fruit Loops, the good news is Cascadian Farm makes a Fruit Loops clone called Fruitful O’s that is definitely vegan.
Fruit Loops Ingredients
Sugar, corn flour blend (whole grain yellow corn flour, degerminated yellow corn flour), wheat flour, whole grain oat flour, oat fiber, modified food starch, soluble corn fiber, contains 2% or less of hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut, soybean and/or cottonseed), salt, natural flavor, red 40, turmeric extract color, yellow 6, blue 1, annatto extract color, BHT for freshness.
Vitamins and Minerals: Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate and ascorbic acid), niacinamide, reduced iron, zinc oxide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin A palmitate, folic acid, vitamin B12, vitamin D3.
Want to find out if other popular breakfast cereals are vegan? Check out our Is It Vegan? category.