You’re probably familiar Boca and Morningstar meatless products since they’ve been around for many years, but you might start seeing a new brand of meatless products showing up in your grocery store called Quorn. Quorn makes meatless products – burgers, chicken stripes, chicken nuggets, etc. – similar to Boca and Morningstar. Quorn’s products are clearly marketed towards vegetarians, but are they vegan? The answer is no – with the exception of one of their burgers.
Quorn’s Vegan Burger
The only vegan product Quorn sells is their vegan burger that is simply called “Vegan Burger.” According to the Quorn website, the Vegan Burger is modeled after their Classic Burger. The nutrition facts for the Vegan Burger are comparable to other meatless burgers. One burger contains 100 calories, 4 g of fat, 9 g of carbohydrates, and 10 g of protein.
Why Are Quorn’s Other Products Not Vegan?
All of the other products Quorn makes contain eggs, and some of them also contain milk. Since vegans are strict vegetarians who do not eat anything that comes from an animal whatsoever, eggs, milk, and any products that contain them are not vegan.
One key difference between Quorn and other meatless products is that Quorn’s products mostly consist of Mycoprotein rather than soy protein. Mycoprotein is a food product made from fungus, which essentially makes Quorn’s burgers a type of mushroom burger. Mycoprtoein is a complete protein – it contains all the essential amino acids an adult needs – so it is a good food for a vegan to incorporate in their diet. Hopefully Quorn will add more vegan products to their line in the future.