Many people seem to be confused over whether or not yeast is vegan – most likely because they don’t know what yeast actually is. The first time I tried to go vegan – about 15 years ago – I was misinformed by many of my friends who told me I could not eat anything that contained yeast, such as bread. I thought it would be impossible for me to ever go vegan, so I quickly gave up. Thankfully, however, it turned out my friends were wrong.
Yeast is a type of fungus. Consuming yeast is no different than consuming ordinary mushrooms. So, to answer the question: Is yeast vegan? Yes, yeast is vegan. There are many different types of yeast, such as active yeast, inactive yeast, and nutritional yeast, but they are all fungi, and therefore all vegan.