A while back, we were working on a list of vegan options at 7-eleven, so we looked into whether or not Slurpees are vegan, and we determined that they are. However, shortly after publishing that article, we began to receive criticisms that we were wrong, so we investigated the matter further. We determined the claims being made were false, and that Slurpees are vegan friendly.
That being said, Slurpees come in a wide variety of flavors, and 7-Eleven is continuously coming out with new flavors. We cannot guarantee that every single Slurpee flavor that has been, or will ever be made is 100% vegan. It just appears that most flavors happen to be, and that trend is likely to continue. If you suspect a certain flavor is not vegan, look into it before you decide to purchase it. If you find out it’s not vegan, let us know, and we’ll look into it as well.
Getting back to the false claims…
The first claim we heard was that Slurpees actually contained dairy, despite dairy not being listed in the ingredients for any of the flavors we could find. When we asked for proof, one of the individuals making this claim sent us a link to an obscure Hasidic blog that said many Slurpee flavors contain dairy. We contacted 7-Eleven, and they told us that no Slurpee products contain dairy.
We thank you for taking the time to contact us at 7-Eleven.
According to our records, the Slurpee products does not contain dairy.
Please let us know if you have any additional questions.
Thanks again for your interest in 7-Eleven.
Another critic asserted Slurpees aren’t vegan because they contain sugar. Apart from some of the inherent flaws within that assertion, it does not apply in this case because Slurpees are sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup, not refined white sugar that may or may not have come in contact with bone-char.
We have reviewed the ingredients for as many Slurpees as were available on the 7-Eleven website at the time of writing this, and did not find any that appeared to contain animal-derivatives. Slurpees come in a huge variety of flavors, each of which has slightly different ingredients, but the main ingredients used in all Slurpees are:
water, high-fructose corn syrup, natural and artificial flavors, and artificial dyes.
If you want to lookup the ingredients for a specific Slurpee flavor, you can do so on the Slurpee website here.
We continue to receive criticisms over the content of this post, so we’d like to further address these issues.
The Sugar Claim
This continues to come up from time to time, so just to reiterate: High fructose corn syrup – HFCS – is not the same thing as granulated sugar, and it does not involve or come in contact with animal-derivatives in any way. Slurpees do not contain sugar, they contain HFCS. And in case you’re wondering, even if Slurpees did contain refined white sugar, there would be about a 25% chance that they may have been filtered through bone-char.
The Dye Claim
Many people seem to still be concerned about the dyes. The dyes used in Slurpees are synthetic, petrol-based dyes. Based on the research we have done, they are not ever made from animals, but they are often confused with non-vegan dyes due to similar names. For example, “Red 40” and “Red 4” look similar on an ingredients label, but one is made from petrol and coal, and the other is made from insects.
The “Natural Flavors” Claim
Some Slurpees contain “natural flavors,” which you can read more about here. Based on our research, it is becoming less and less common for “natural flavors” to be derived from animal sources. In other words, the chance of you consuming a “natural flavor” that isn’t synthetic is very slim these days, except for a handful of specific products, some of which wouldn’t be vegan either way, and some of which aren’t even foods, such as cigarettes. If you are concerned about this, you may want to stay away from vanilla flavored Slurpees, which are the most likely to possibly contain animal-sourced “natural flavoring.” It is also worth noting “natural flavorings” account for “far less than 1% percent” of a product.
The Definition of “Vegan” Claim
We acknowledge that people have different reasons for why they choose to be vegan, and that some definitions may be stricter or more rigid than others. When we label a product as “vegan,” what we are concerned with is whether or not the product contains animal-based ingredients and/or explicitly exploits/harms animals in other ways.
What we are not concerned with is if whether or not one specific ingredient may have caused a tree to get cut down that had a bird’s nest in it. If you are concerned that 7-Eleven as a company overall has contributed to the death of an animal, then you should not shop at 7-Eleven. They sell a lot of meat, after all. It’s also worth mentioning that if you are that strict in your definition of what makes a product “vegan,” you should probably not be a consumer at all, because everything is connected in some way and it’s all too easy to play an endless game of connect the dots.
The Endorsement Claim
We do not work for 7-Eleven in any way, shape, or form, nor are we “endorsing” their products. In fact, if we were, we’d be required to say so. People wanted to know if Slurpess are vegan, so we researched it and concluded they are. Furthermore, we do not work for, or official endorse any of the products or restaurants we provide information on, nor do they reflect our own purchasing habits.
Along those same lines, we do not have an “agenda,” nor are we “pushing” Slurpees or any other products on our visitors. Again, the sole purpose of posts like this is to be informative to those who want to know.
Do Your Own Due Diligence
There are dozens of Slurpee flavors and they change frequently. If you suspect a certain flavor may not be vegan, take a moment to look up the ingredients.
PETA Agrees with Us
PETA shares our opinion that Slurpees are vegan. They even promote them on their website here.
Why So Much Hate for Slurpees?
We’ve covered 100s of accidentally vegan products on this blog, but for some reason Slurpees have garnered more hate and cynicism than any other one. In fact, no other product has received so much backlash, if any at all; and by backlash, I mean negative emails, messages, etc.. Oreos once held that title, but now it’s a far distant second. It’s somewhat puzzling.
Want to find out what other popular snacks and beverages might be vegan? Check out our Is It Vegan? category.