If you’re an American, when you think of muffins, you probably think of sweet little cupcakes people like to eat for breakfast, but if you were British, English muffins would just be muffins. That being said, none of this silly trivia answers the question: Are English muffins vegan?
The answer is: typically not. Whether we’re talking about homemade English muffins or the store-bought kind, they usually contain milk. However, English muffins can be made without milk, and some brands may not contain milk or whey at all. And then, you would have a “yes” to the question are English Muffins Vegan?
English Muffin Ingredients (Thomas brand)
- UNBLEACHED ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR[FLOUR,
- MALTED BARLEY FLOUR,
- REDUCED IRON,
- THIAMIN MONONITRATE (VITAMIN B1),
- RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), FOLIC ACID],
- PRESERVATIVES (CALCIUM PROPIONATE, SORBIC ACID),
- SOYBEAN OIL,
- WHEAT GLUTEN,
- GRAIN VINEGAR,
- SOY FLOUR, NONFAT MILK, WHEY.
If you liked this article you should take a look at our Is Honey Vegan article, too!