Raisin bran is one of the most popular varieties of breakfast cereal in the world. It is made by many different manufacturers and is sold under many different brand names and generic names. You might assume all raisin bran cereals are vegan, and most of them are, but in some cases they may not be.
Kellog’s Raisin Bran
Kellogg’s Raisin Bran is probably the most popular brand, but unfortunately it’s also the one that may not be vegan. A representative from Kellogg’s stated in an email that Kellogg’s Raisin Bran may or may not use vitamin D3 – a vitamin D supplement made from lanolin, an animal byproduct that comes from the wool industry – but Kellogg’s can’t say for sure either way. In other words, they really have no idea, which means Kellogg’s Raisin Bran may or may not be vegan and there’s just no way of knowing for sure unless Kellogg’s changes their ingredients or gives a definitive answer to whether or not they use vitamin D3 as their source of vitamin D.
Post Raisin Bran
Post Raisin Bran also contains vitamin D, but it is unclear weather or not it comes from D3 or D2, which is vegan.
Neither Kellogg’s nor Post Raisin Bran contain any other ingredients that may not be vegan. Most other brands of raisin bran do not contain animal ingredients either, but you may still want to check the ingredients label for traces of milk, because it’s not uncommon for ingredients like whey to be added as a filler to cereals and breads.
My Latest Videos
Vegan Raisin Bran
Want to know what other breakfast cereals are vegan? Check out our Is It Vegan? category.