I think it’s pretty safe to say most of the hot chocolate mixes you’ll find at the store aren’t vegan. They’re likely to contain dairy ingredients and/or marshmallows. If you’re ordering hot chocolate from a restaurant, I think it’s also pretty likely it isn’t vegan. You’ll want to check with them to find out how they make it before you order. There’s a good chance many restaurants simply use a mix. That being said, it’s super east to make your own vegan hot chocolate.
How to Make Vegan Hot Chocolate
To make your own vegan hot chocolate, you will need:
- Soy milk, almond, or any other dairy-free milk you like.
- Cocoa powder or chocolate syrup.
Simply mix the ingredients together and microwave for a few minutes. If you use cocoa powder, you might want to add some extra sugar or sweetener, because cocoa powder is rather bitter and the milk won’t sweeten it very much.
Vegan Hot Chocolate Mix
My Latest Videos
I went on Amazon and searched for “vegan hot chocolate.” I usually have pretty good luck finding vegan versions of things on Amazon, so I figured it’d be worth a shot. I didn’t find much, other than cocoa powders, but I was surprised to find out that Ghirardelli Chocolate Sweet Ground Chocolate & Cocoa Beverage Mix appears to be accidentally vegan. It does not contain any dairy or other animal ingredients. It does say that it “may contain” dairy and eggs, but that simply means it is processed in a factory that also makes foods containing those ingredients.
I’m sure there are probably other hot chocolate mixes out their that are vegan friendly or at least accidentally vegan. If you know of any, please let us know in the comments below. Thanks!