Pretzels may or may not be vegan depending on the type of pretzel and who made it. Whenever you buy pretzels at the store, you should always check the ingredients label.
So Are Pretzels Vegan?
Plain hard pretzels are typically vegan. The flavored pretzels are the ones you have to look out for. Some flavored pretzels actually are vegan, but a good number of them contain dairy, so you should always double check before you buy.
You do not need any dairy or eggs to make soft pretzels but many recipes use those ingredients. Surprisingly however, the popular food-court chain, Auntie Anne’s has vegan pretzel options. If you’re out somewhere and you want to buy a soft pretzel but you’re uncertain if it’s vegan, the best thing to do is simply ask the business if the pretzels have any dairy or eggs in them.
My Latest Videos
Make Your Own Vegan Soft Pretzels
We love soft pretzels, so we like to make our own at home from time to time, that’s why we had to give an answer to the question “are pretzels vegan”. They take a while to make, but they’re well worth it if you have the spare time. Click here to view our recipe for Stuffed Beer Pretzels.