Marshmallows, sadly, are not vegan. One of the key ingredients in marshmallows is gelatin, which is made from collagen (connective tissue) that has been procured from within animal bones (mainly cows and pigs). Once in awhile you might stumble across a brand of marshmallows that do not contain any gelatin, but most marshmallows do, and it’s a good rule of thumb to assume this if you are unsure.
Are There Any Vegan Marshmallow Alternatives?
Yes, vegan marshmallow alternatives do exist.
Dandies Marshmallows: Dandies Classic Vanilla Flavor Air Puffed Marshmallows do not contain any gelatin or other animal-derived ingredients. Dandies gets rave reviews and everyone seems to agree that these marshmallows taste better than real marshmallows.
Only Kosher Candy: Only Kosher marshmallows get equally enthusiastic reviews and proudly boast that they are 100% Kosher. I’ve heard people who are not vegan say they buy these marshmallows simply because they are the best.