You may have already heard that Rice Krispies are vegan, but what about their chocolatey cousin, Cocoa Krispies? Even though Cocoa Krispies contain chocolate, they don’t appear to contain any dairy or any other animal ingredients, which means Cocoa Krispies are vegan. Probably…
Cocoa Krispies contain vitamin D, and it’s unclear if the vitamin D is vitamin D3 or D2. If it’s D2, then it’s not derived from animals, but if it’s D3, then it is derived from animals – sheep’s wool, to be exact. It’s probably D2 because D2 is used more commonly than D3, but there’s no way to tell for sure unless Kellogg’s can verify the source.
All in all, it’s safe to say Cocoa Krispies are at least 99.9 percent vegan, so if you’re really in love with this cereal, go for it. That being said, One Degree Organic Foods makes a Cocoa Crisps cereal that is definitely vegan, organic, and non-GMO.
Cocoa Krispies Ingredients
Rice, Sugar, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Contains 2% or Less of Semisweet Chocolate (Sugar, Chocolate, Dextrose), Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Coconut, Soybean and/or Cottonseed), Salt, Malt Flavoring, Artificial Flavor, BHT For Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid And Sodium Ascorbate), Iron, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol Acetate), Niacinamide, Zinc Oxide, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Hydrochloride), Folic Acid, Vitamin D, Vitamin B12.
Tree Nuts, Soybeans.
My Latest Videos
Want to know what other cereals are vegan? Check out our Is It Vegan? category.