Altoids are a famous brand of breath mint owned by The Wrigley Company. The brand first started in London in the 1780s when it was created by Smith & Company. Even though Altoids are produced in Britain, they are more widely available and consumed in the U.S.
Altoids breath mints are sold in two varieties: Original Mints and Sugar-Free Smalls. Both varieties come in an assortment of flavors, but are any of them vegan? Unfortunately, Altoids Original Mints are not vegan because all of the flavors contain gelatin, an animal byproduct. Altoids Sugar-Free Smalls might be vegan. They contain “natural flavors” as one of the main ingredients, which could come from plant or animal sources.
Click here to view the ingredients for Altoids on the Wrigley website.